I’m not sorry

Have you noticed we are living in an apologetic
society? Every time we turn around somebody is
apologizing to someone else because of their faith,
political party, or skin color.

I’m with Merle Haggard on this one, I am a white
boy. I was born that way, can’t pass for anything
else, and wouldn’t want to if I could. It’s all I
know.

Nope, I’m proud of the fact. Some may call that
racist and in our country it is their right to do
so. But simply saying so doesn’t make it so.

Why is it, in this wonderful land we live in, it
is ok to have brown pride, black history month,
and the talk of our need for cultural diversity,
but it is not ok to be white?

So call me redneck, cracker, or whatever because
I won’t mind. I am a redneck who likes crackers.
Common sense needs to enter our society again and
stick around this time.

Instead of using the race card try using a deck
that is based in reality. Just because we are
white does not mean we hate those different than
ourselves. Don’t let other people tell you how you
think.

So I will repeat, I’m proud to be a white boy and
will not apologize for that fact, my religious
beliefs, or my God given rights. If that offends
you feel free to call me a racist.
Comments are always welcome.

10 Responses to I’m not sorry

  1. Grumpa Joe says:

    Sounds like good old Common Sense to me.

  2. It is ridiculous but understandable given your history that there is black history month and not white history month since white history is the default.
    The only question I see is when does it even out and start on equal footing?

  3. anonymous says:

    I challenge all to take the Race IAT (Implcit Association Test) at http://www.implicit.harvard.edu . Then tell me you are not a racist. The thing about this test is that it even shows that people of any race are racist to some extent. It is unavoidable. I would encourage folks to read Blink by Malcolm Gladewell.

  4. With you. Political correctness has gone mad.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    thanks.

    theeditorsjournal,
    things will never be on equal footing as long as event like the riots
    in Ferguson.

    anonymous,
    thanks for the link.

    One man and his Mustang,
    thank you.

  6. Patty B says:

    My father was career Army and had this saying, that went something like this,.in the Army you are only the color green and when we are shot we all bleed red. meaning of coarse that skin color is not an issue when you are in a fox hole and it should not be in our daily lives. Add white female and sweet tea the mix and you have me!! 🙂

  7. Nitrous55 says:

    There is too much money to be made to try to end racism.

  8. cruisin2 says:

    Patty B,
    well said.

    Nitrous55,
    amen to that.

  9. Pete says:

    You have a lot of like-minded company up here in the North of Alaska. Out here in the wilderness there is no such thing as being politically correct we just speak our mind and go about our business. And no one is “offended” here with just talk…

  10. cruisin2 says:

    Pete,
    thanks for letting us know there are more like us.