Thoughts and tractors

Yesterday the wife wanted to go to the county fair and I nixed
her idea which didn’t make mama happy. Then shortly after our
youngest son called. He mentioned 2 firefighters had been killed
this week fighting the wild fires. Timber isn’t that important
but surrounding homes and families are. Our condolences.

So we went to fair after one of my unhealthy breakfasts. I see
nothing wrong with eggs cooked sunny side up in bacon fat yet
it drives some people crazy. If what these people say is true,
added to my years of cigarette smoking, I should have died 17
years before I was born!

At the fair we saw some good looking livestock, some wild
animals, rides, and of course tractors. It wasn’t a big show
but we’ll share some pictures. And some of the tractors aren’t
even green.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Mamabear can show the pictures to her grandson and make his
day. These pictures were taken by the wife as my little Sony
quit working after two pictures. Although the display showed
a full battery I didn’t charge it.

Enjoy our Sunday.
Comments are always welcome.

6 Responses to Thoughts and tractors

  1. Ken says:

    A little good news for the day. The local Smoke Jumpers made it back to Base Camp safely. The Texas Canyon Hotshot crew has left to spend time with the families of the fallen. Safe travels and God bless.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Ken,
    that is good news.

  3. Mamabear says:

    My sympathy to the fallen firefighters~it’s nice that their fellow firefighters are going to console their families~I’m sure they’re a close knit group. Always sad to hear of anybody that has fallen in the line of duty, may they rest in peace.

    My great grandson’s both love the green tractors, but I’m partial to the red ones. I’m glad you made it to the fair after your unhealthy breakfast~you’d be better off eating a pizza.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    it’s sad but they are like family. There was a pretty good mix of tractors at the fair, I may share some more pictures later. Funny you should mention pizza, we had one for supper!

  5. The “tricycle” John Deere was how I learned to drive. That and sitting on my Dad’s lap on the dirt roads between Grandpa’s and my uncle’s farm where the John Deere was. Today’s busybody do-gooders would probably call the cops but back then cops were few and far between in the country and more worried about lunch and bank robbers.

  6. cruisin2 says:

    Mike Fuller Author,
    things were sure different back then. I started on a Deere Model A and was driving the 54′ Chevy around 13. If you did pass a law enforcement vehicle they’d just give you the one finger wave as long as you could see over the dash and weren’t driving crazy.

