A good sandwich

A few years ago in a restaurant out of town I tried a sandwich
called an adult grilled cheese. I liked it so much I kept trying
to duplicate it until I got it. Thinking it was the perfect
breakfast sandwich we stuck with my system until a just
recently. The picture doesn’t do it justice.

My version of the adult grilled cheese involves 4 slices of
bread, butter, Parmesan cheese, 8 slices of bacon, and 4 slices
of two different kinds of cheese. Usually cheddar and Colby
jack. But I upped my game and went to 8 slices of bacon the
last sandwich made.

That was when I decided it was the perfect breakfast sandwich.
When I told the wife my thought on adding another slice of
cheese between the bacon she thought it would be too much. So
I’ll share how to make it and you can decide for yourself if
it’s a good sandwich.

You’ll need:

4 slices of bread

butter or margarine

Parmesan cheese

4 slices of cheese

and as much bacon as you can handle.

When all that’s assembled, and after the bacon is cooked we’re
ready to begin. Butter one side of a slice of bread and shake
Parmesan cheese on the butter. Set this slice on your griddle
with buttered side down and butter the top of the bread.

Add a slice of cheese and either 4 or 8 slices of bacon then add
another slice of cheese on top.

Butter another slice of bread and place on top buttered side
down, then butter the top and shake Parmesan cheese over that.
Repeat for another sandwich and grill until brown. Place on a
plate and cut it in half and enjoy.

Works well with ham also but we prefer bacon. The Parmesan
will smell when cooking but the end result is worth it. Try it,
you might like it.

Enjoy our friday, it means the working folk may get a few days
off after work today.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to A good sandwich

  1. QC Cat says:

    You forgot an ingredient between the bacon and the Swiss cheese; a good cardiac doctor. Sounds tasty, though.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    QC Cat,
    if living don’t kill me the bacon will. If a salad a year isn’t enough healthy eating at least I’ll have a smile on my face when the time comes.

  3. QC Cat says:

    Yours is the perfect attitude.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    QC Cat,
    thank you. It works for me.

Leave a Reply

