I don’t get it

In the corner of my mind where empty boxes gather dust an idea
started and began to grow. As I lay down to have a nap this idea
took over and while the body was tired the brain was on high
alert. It got to the point I had to get up, make more coffee,
and try to reason things out.

The whole fiasco started yesterday after my brother stopped by
to show me his new Harley. When he was gone I cruised the
information highway and paused at a story about a 71 year old
man who died when he rolled his street rod. The short article
planted a seed and the comments heaped on the manure to help
it mature.

Back when I first started cruising the information highway
condolences to the family would out number comments of any
other kind. And there were a few of these, yet what surprised
me is the majority of comments were split between ‘it can be
fixed’ and ‘why wasn’t he wearing a seat belt?’

Has compassion and common courtesy died along with common
sense? This man was probably someones husband, father, grand
father, and brother yet the comments question his desire not
to have seat belts in his 40′ Ford.

The accident happened on a city street on a Sunday morning. I
noticed no comments about the possibility that he had a medical
issue that caused the wreck either.

If this is what our society has become, count me out. In the
first place all the safety equipment in the world won’t help
you if it’s your time to go. I would imagine his relatives
haven’t given much thought to the car. If he didn’t want seat
belts, it was his choice.

I guess this old redneck outlaw just doesn’t get it.

Enjoy our tuesday, it’s the last one we’ll get this month.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to I don’t get it

  1. Brittius says:

    When your number’s up – It’s up.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Brittius,
    amen to that.

Leave a Reply

