Ramblings of a confused oldfart

Yesterday for supper I grilled ribs to have with fresh corn on
the cob and potato salad. While at the store the idea of having
ribs for dinner sounded great yet when the time came I realized
the heat index was hovering around 110 degrees.

Everything turned out great and I would have gotten pictures
of the ribs and corn but was drooling so bad I couldn’t. It’s
hard to concentrate with drool running down the front of your
t-shirt.

Later the severe weather warnings started popping up on the
TV every few minutes and it made it hard to watch reruns of
Andy Griffith. We got hit with thunderstorms twice, the latest
is still going on. And that got me thinking…

How is it all these TV stations can claim they report the news
when most of time they’re shipping the bull, commenting on some
celebrity’s birthday, hosting a concert from the latest hit band,
or making fashion statements?

Every-time I hear one of the opinionated hosts from the Today
Show proclaim it is the most watched ‘news’ program I cringe.
It should be called what it really is, a variety show that
tosses out a tidbit of news once an hour.

I think this because although I don’t turn the TV on the wife
does watch the Today Show. It would be nice if news was talked
about during at least half of the ‘news’ program. Oh well, this
oldfart needs some coffee and breakfast so I’ll leave it there.
We’ll have a snicker later. Enjoy our Saturday.
Comments are always welcome.

6 Responses to Ramblings of a confused oldfart

  1. Ron Walker says:

    You are so spot on with that assessment of what they call the “Morning Show” I call it the boring show and never watch it.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    thank you. I was going to time how much of the program is actually news but was yelling at the screen before I saw any news!

  3. 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

    I don’t watch any of them. I grew sick of them for three years ago! Oh and I’m having BBQed beef short ribs with corn tonight!

  4. cruisin2 says:

    1wanderingtruthseeker,
    smart move. I don’t watch anymore but the wife does so I catch bits and pieces when I walk through the kitchen. Your dinner sounds great, hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed ours.

  5. Mamabear says:

    You had me drooling over your yummy food choices 😦

  6. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    oops. It was as good as it sounded too.

