That’s what I get for thinking…

After the wife went on her merry way to work I noticed clear
skies after sunset and many stars. So the tri-pod came out
along with the wireless remote to capture the stars. Some came
out pretty good, most looked like this.

Yes, I had forgotten that fireworks are legal now and my
neighbors must have decided to have a contest and see who could
make the most noise for the longest time. When some of these
things went off I thought for a minute I was back aboard ship
with the 5 inch 54 gun mount during target practice!

Windows rattled and night turned into day when these things
went off. But these unknown people were devious. I was lulled
into thinking things were over for the night during a prolonged
silence. I soon found out a truce was declared to allow both
sides of the feud to reload.

When things quieted down again I wasn’t fooled by the silence.
Sure enough the moment I began to nod off things heated up
again. This continued into the early morning hours and sleep
finally came around day break. Now I don’t mind others wanting
to loudly and brightly proclaim their patriotism, and some of
the fireworks were neat to watch, just not into the wee hours
of the morning.

But at my age, sleep is also nice. So if I’m a little off for
the next few days just bear with me and we’ll get through it.
Enjoy our Sunday. Here on the east coast of Iowa it’s looking
to be another picture perfect night for fireworks.
Comments are always welcome.

Comments are closed.

