Shock to the system

Last night as the sun set I watched the glow to the west and
then glanced at the moon. What a sight to see. Thinking all was
right in the world when I came back in until the computer
booted up.

Shortly after that I discovered my cousin had died. We
messaged back and forth as late as Tuesday, and she died
Tuesday. She was only 60 years old and it seemed a shame as a
nicer person would be hard to find.

She moved away while I was in the Navy and we hadn’t gotten
back together until earlier this year. Over lunch we talked of
many things, shared a laugh, and enjoyed the meal. I remember
we got to the restaurant first and I had no clue as to what she
looked like as we hadn’t seen each other in over 40 years.

The door didn’t even close behind her when she came in and all
the memories came flooding back. Some good, some bad, and a
few mundane. But it was great to see her again and catch up on
what we missed. She messaged me not long ago that her surgery
went well and she felt pain free. I was happy for her.

It was a shock when I heard she was gone and still is today.
Our condolences to her family. Rest easy Kris, I’m sure there
are flowers in Heaven.

Now I’m going to get busy and try to get the green stuff on
the ground a little shorter. Enjoy our Friday.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to Shock to the system

  1. Ron Walker says:

    My condolences to you and the family.

  2. Mamabear says:

    Please accept my deepest sympathy in the sudden passing of your cousin. I’m betting you’re glad that you had reconnected and that you had just heard from her the day she passed. My condolences to her family too.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    thank you.

    Mamabear,
    thanks. I am happy that we got together yet sorry it won’t happen again.

  4. QC Cat says:

    Sorry, Bro.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    QC Cat,
    thanks.

