Problem probably solved

We went over to visit Dad again and after the visit stopped by
my favorite farm store. I wasn’t sure what I was looking for
but knew I’d know it when I seen it. When I saw this bird
feeder it became our new one. The model is “Squirrel Be Gone”
because when a squirrel gets on the feeder the metal slips down
and the leaves cover the feed ports and the squirrels can’t
get any bird food.

I also picked up some squirrel feed, some bird feed, and a cat
scratching pad before going back to look at the baby chicks.
The store now has baby ducks and geese. Neat to look at but we
don’t need any more critters to feed. So when we got home I
filled the new feeder and hung it up.

Even after putting some squirrel feed in a different part of
the yard nothing prepared me for the results. I saw sulking
squirrels everywhere I looked. Guess they know when they’re
beat, but I don’t know how to treat squirrels with depression.

All that ended up being short lived and as I looked to the
heavens I knew why. A hawk appeared to be circling our yard in
search of lunch so all the critters scattered. The critters
must have done a good job of looking invisible because after a
short time the hawk flew off.

Now with the slinky in place and the guaranteed squirrel proof
feeder up, other problems looking for a solution will have to
be found. Enjoy our Thursday as we’re that much closer to a long
weekend.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Problem probably solved

  1. Brittius says:

    That squirrel needs a peanut to cheer him up.
    No peanut? Put a tad of peanut butter on the unsalted side of a cracker. All else fails, grow some snow peas in your garden and let them enjoy.

  2. Grumpa Joe says:

    The squirrel will ultimately prevail.

  3. QC Cat says:

    Obviously, SoLo squirrels are lazy.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Brittius,
    I put out peanuts every day so maybe it will keep them busy. The squirrels would have to fight the ground hogs for anything we planted.

    Grumpa Joe,
    I hope not. If they get around this set up, I’ll come up with something else.

    QC Cat,
    lol. Those inner-city squirrels are a different breed.

Leave a Reply

