Just thinking

Here on the east coast of Iowa it’s been raining and sometimes
that makes me think of fireworks. Actually it makes me think of
the impact local politicians have over the use of fireworks.

It is now legal to buy consumer grade fireworks in our fine
state while giving some “power” to cities to restrict or ban
the fireworks. Our city council can’t decide to act or leave
it as is.

Fireworks have been illegal in Iowa as long as I can remember
yet last year the police responded to 550 calls relating to
fireworks. The majority of these calls in June and July. Yet
there are those who claim those numbers are going to climb now
that fireworks are legal, and hospital emergency rooms will be
overtaken with injuries.

The problem is, if I understand correctly, the police have to
witness someone lighting off the fireworks and not just accuse
someone in the crowd of onlookers. It is an illegal act that
too many people get away with. Around the 4th of July we can’t
even see an intersection for all the smoke, and the noise is
constant.

Why is our city council even wasting the time to discus the
possible ban? It won’t stop the fireworks from goin off, and
the number of calls won’t drop. Political correctness at its
finest.

We’ll still have a snicker post later but as mentioned, I was
just thinking. Enjoy our Saturday.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to Just thinking

  1. Ron Walker says:

    The only way to be able to enforce it, would be get enough support to pass a new law/ordinance, making it illegal to possess. Then the officers would not have to catch them lighting it. I think just catching them standing there near the bag/box might support “constructive possession.”
    I feel your pain.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    I agree, and thanks. The old law even had hours that fireworks could be set off and nobody paid any attention to that either. Some of these new fireworks are so loud I have to remind myself I’m not in the Weapons Division anymore.

