Jury duty?

This morning I was among the first to arrive at the courthouse
and got to the metal detector alright. I did as asked and
emptied my pockets but then they asked me to remove my belt
also. That was a first.

After making it through the metal detector, myself and another
gentleman went walking down the hall putting our belts back
where they belonged. We arrived at the correct place and were
told to go to a specific courtroom and wait.

After watching a video that explained the process of a trail,
and a lot of waiting, we were assigned a different courtroom
for our trial. I have never seen a courtroom this small nor as
many people crammed into one before today.

Here we were again told that cell phones, recording devices,
electrical devices, cameras, weapons, tobacco, lighters and other
things were not allowed in the court house. And we waited.

It seemed like we were forgotten for days but I was later told
it was a matter of a few hours before someone who knew anything
about what was going on returned. We were then told that the
defendant had pled guilty, we were free to go, and we wouldn’t
have to have jury duty again for two years.

We were thanked for our service and told to remove our “juror”
buttons and return them to the nice lady talking. We never saw
a judge nor an attorney, but did learn that even though the
court house is smoke free campus we could smoke inside our cars
on the property.

I may just do it again if I receive a summons. Next time I
will bring a book to read though. Enjoy our Monday. It’s only
hours away from the anniversary of the date the United States
stopped minting the 20 cent coin on May 2nd, 1878.
Comments are always welcome.

6 Responses to Jury duty?

  1. Grumpa Joe says:

    By being there you served your civic duty. You were available to any person who asked for a jury trial. Most people chicken out at the last minute and take their chances wit a judge rather than a jury of their peers. What does that tell you about the judicial system?

  2. Ron Walker says:

    I never liked going to court even when I was a police officer.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    well said.

    Ron Walker,
    I can only imagine what that’s like.

  4. Nitrous55 says:

    Bring a book AND a pillow.

  5. Mamabear says:

    Glad your experience with jury duty is over with and you won’t have to face it anytime soon. I know here in PA if you’re a certain age~think 65 where you don’t have to serve unless you want to. They never picked me b/c of knowing judges and atty’s b/c I worked in the legal system.

  6. cruisin2 says:

    Nitrous55,
    I will next time.

    Mamabear,
    I don’t know if Iowa has such a law or not. Mine was not the only grey head in the group and as long as I’m able I’ll do it.

