Stranger than fiction

I ran across a couple stories lately that had me shaking my
head. One was local and the other, regional. So let’s put my
thoughts out there and see what happens.

One of our Aldermen caused an uproar of sorts when he was
quoted saying the following “the homeless are bad for business”.
Or something close. Our local newspaper was outraged.

How could he say such a thing? How can he not feel sympathy
towards the downtrodden? Or words to that effect. Well, it
wasn’t that long ago we called them bums. Back when the
greatest generation was our age they didn’t mince words.

And whatever happened to freedom of speech? Today, just
because he says something others don’t like he gets put on the
10 most wanted list? I’d be willing to bet the writers from the
newspaper live nowhere near the area mentioned and wouldn’t
want the homeless congregating in their neighborhood either.

The other item concerns higher education in Wisconsin. At some
colleges they installed tampon dispensers in the mens bathrooms
in an effort to give equal treatment to all.

That got me so flustered I couldn’t talk, the wife laughing
so hard at my dilemma, it was crazy. This brought on a
discussion I never thought I’d have.

So I started with “there isn’t a man alive who needs tampons”.

The wife stated that a transgender man, who used to be a
woman, but hasn’t had the final operation would. Lord love a
duck.

So I countered “there isn’t a man alive who needs a tampon”.
During war time I supposed said sanitary items could be used
to stop heavy bleeding but I don’t believe Wisconsin has a war
on its college campuses.

I must be getting old. The more I follow the news the less I
understand. Enjoy our Friday, the weekend is upon us. Now I’m
making a thick salami sandwich to ease my suffering.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to Stranger than fiction

  1. Ron Walker says:

    Lord love a duck, was my father’s favorite saying. I’m hesitant to turn on the news lately, one of my role models might come out of the closet, or start dating his male cousin, or some other equally weird stuff.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    I’m going back to not watching news. At least until such time as they actually start reporting news and not opinions. I’m trying to quit cussing and I figured that saying wasn’t offensive. As long as I don’t skin a knuckle I may make it.

Leave a Reply

