Easter thoughts

Even Henry Wadsworth Longfellow had thoughts of Easter when he
penned the following:

Twas Easter Sunday
The full-blossomed trees
Filled all the air with
Fragrance and with joy.

Here on the east coast of Iowa we had just such a day with a
warm breeze rippling across the grass and causing the trees to
wave. But is it the weather and fragrance that makes us joyful
or is it Easter itself?

I do know that I am filled with enough ham and potato salad to
last me awhile. And even though it was a religious holiday, I
mowed the lawn again and detailed the car. Even chatted with a
long haul trucker who was visiting neighbors.

As happens sometimes, I even took time to read and as I was
doing that the Easter beagle dropped off goodie bags. Well,
actually Ronnie and Todd did. Along with the goodie bags was
what I at first looked like a piece of polished aluminum
diamond plate.

The cogs in the old braincase went into overdrive and I
thought of making a gauge panel out of it, until I picked it
up. Then I thought it was mat to set my laptop on. Wrong. The
wife snickered and told me it was an envelope and I should open
it. I had never seen a chrome envelope before and didn’t know
what to expect.

I was pleasantly surprised when I reached inside and pulled out
a birthday card. So I want to thank Ronnie and Todd for the
bag, the card, and a new shiny thing to play with.

Hope your Easter was a good one. We now are in into Monday
and that means only 4 more days to another weekend.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to Easter thoughts

  1. Nitrous55 says:

    I am pretty sure you live near me. Did you hear anything Saturday night? News is saying that there were shots fired in the 600 block of E 14th. That is one block away from me and I heard nothing.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Nitrous55,
    we didn’t hear anything either. Early this morning I was out and noticed a felony stop on East 13th and didn’t hear sirens. The wrecker that came for the car didn’t even make much noise.

Leave a Reply

