It’s time

Since today is such a great day I’ve decided the yard work
will get done today. Many days are filled with history but as
mentioned I think today is going to be great.

On this date in 1776 the North Carolina Provincial Congress
authorized its delegation to vote for independence from
Britain. And also on this date the battle of Fort Pillow took
place in 1864. During this battle Confederate forces killed
most of the African American soldiers who surrendered. Then
in 1945 the U.S. Ninth Army crossed the Elbe River to reach
Tanggermunde.

So on this day full of history I will venture out and mow the
lawn. Besides, when I look out and can only see a birds head
because of the high grass, the time has come. I guess I could
wait until it gets as high as a squirrels eye.

Even the birds are giving me dirty looks and hop around in
groups so the don’t get lost in the lawn. Calling the yard a
wetlands didn’t work, we can’t have a bird sanctuary in town,
and the city won’t let me call it prairie grass. Such is my
life.

When I go outside the wife will be notified to come looking
for me if I’m not back in a few hours. On the bright side,
there may be treasure hiding in that there tall grass. Enjoy
our Wednesday, we’re halfway to the weekend.
Comments are always welcome.

3 Responses to It’s time

  1. gerrymackrell says:

    Sounds to me that you have interests other than yard work, (something like myself) Hope you find your treasure while you work.

  2. Ron Walker says:

    Go slow.My neighbor once cut his pasture and found an old VW with his tractor.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    gerrymackrell,
    the only “treasure” I found was a six pack of empty beer bottles scattered around.

    Ron Walker,
    lucky neighbor. I’ve found a lot of strange stuff in the past, but not today. Forgot my power tools aren’t ergonomically friendly and my arms are still shaking!

Leave a Reply

