The party’s over

To tell the truth there never was a party, but all the fixins
were there. The wife made a butterscotch birthday pie so I had
a piece. She claims it isn’t healthy yet I only had one piece
and it tasted so good it had to be good for me.

In hindsight, next time I’ll use a bigger plate and have more
Cool Whip on hand. One tub cut it awful close. And it was a
great day for a birthday, even the critters knew it. We saw the
pelicans had migrated back and the other birds were singing to
welcome them back.


It wasn’t all fun and games however. When I took a rare glance
in the mirror, some oldfart was staring back at me! Hair that
used to be a rich dark brown had turned to grey and the dimples
on the oldfart’s face had turned to wrinkles. I was happy to
see he had a mischievous glint in his eye though.

To those who sent a card and glad tidings, thank you. To those
who were ornery and couldn’t believe I’m still alive, bless your
heart. To everyone else, enjoy our Monday. Next year, no
birthday. I’m going back to the anniversary of the first time I
was slapped.

Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to The party’s over

  1. Brittius says:

    Take a pinch of sugar with your fingers and sprinkle over the Cool-Whip.

  2. Mamabear says:

    Happy belated Birthday. If it was your birthday pie then you should be able to eat it all, but share a sliver with the wife 🙂

  3. gerrymackrell says:

    Sounds to me like you are in fine fettle. From one old fart to another. Happy birthday.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Brittius,
    I’ll have to try that next time.

    Mamabear,
    thank you. I couldn’t share it with the wife because she was at work.
    And it was good.

    gerrymackrell,
    thank you.

Leave a Reply

