Here we go

It happened again. All set to get a post in early, I had just
sat down at the computer and the doorbell rang. A friend I’ve
had for almost 50 years stopped by and things got delayed. We
hadn’t seen each other for a while so needed to catch up.

He had found out he doesn’t have Parkinson’s but is scheduled
for heart surgery. We talked of families, health, cars, and
what he thought we should have done different. It didn’t take
long for us to once again realize that between the two of us
we’ve had some really nice, and fast, cars.

Whenever he stops by there is always something he wants. A
little favor that he feels he has to talk his way into and I
would do even if he came right out with it. So after a pot of
coffee he came to the point.

It now looks possible that tomorrow we’ll be on some two lane
blacktop on the way to check out an old drag car. His bucket
list contains wanting to put one more really fast car together
while mine is short. I want to live to ripe old age.

The irony is, every time I do something like this with him, he
asks me what I think and when I tell him he does the opposite.
So we’ll see. If he shows up I’ll go along for the ride.
Tomorrow is supposed to be a nice day anyway.

Enjoy our first Friday of the month and we’ll give it our best
shot.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Here we go

  1. gerrymackrell says:

    good luck in the fast lane. drive safely.

  2. Ron Walker says:

    They always seem to do the opposite of what we advise. Sometimes, I think they just want to hear “what they are supposed to do” even though they are already set to do it their way.

  3. Grumpa Joe says:

    One can never have too many car projects.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    it does seem that way.

    Grumpa Joe,
    amen to that. I need a few myself.

Leave a Reply

