Shooting the moon

When I first got my DSLR the more research done just raised my
curiosity. Most of what I read stated one needed a tripod to
take a picture of the moon, and perfectly dark surroundings.
My naturally curious brain was left in doubt.

If the earth is orbiting the sun at around 67,000 mph and the
moon is orbiting us at about 2,290 mph, why does the camera
have to be on a tripod? Yet I was continually told it was a
necessity.

Now on top of the earth and moon being in motion there are
times when clouds will get in the way. The final piece of the
puzzle was these same articles telling me about the necessity
of a tripod also said you need at least a 600mm lens to take a
good picture of the moon.

I do have a tripod and longer lenses yet prefer my trusty
100-300 mm lens. If you are older and have used a long lens to
shoot hand held you will know why. So I decided to use what I
want and see how it worked.

The picture above was taken March 31, 2017 on a clear night
The settings were shutter 1/500 of a second, aperture f/5.6,
and ISO 400. It was taken with the lens at 300 mm. Not perfect
but I’m happy with it.

When I started this quest, using a kit lens, I started with
the settings at shutter 1/250, f/5.6, and ISO 200. I don’t
lower the shutter speed if the moon is too dark I raise the
ISO. If the moon looks too bright I raise the shutter speed.

There have been clearer shots and cloudy shots, but to start
I used the settings mentioned above. And I do use a tripod when
taking pictures of stars in the night sky. That may get mentioned
in another post.

Enjoy the rest of our Sunday as the work week starts tomorrow.
Now I’m going to enjoy the Snicker’s bar I have chilling in the
refrigerator.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to Shooting the moon

  1. Ron Walker says:

    I think it’s a great picture. Really good detail considering the distance and conditions.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    thank you.

