A clarification

I have omitted information in previous posts and will try to
rectify that. So to that end, if you bear with me, I’ll
explain. The missing information concerns what I shoot my
pictures with and the settings used when doing it.

When taking most pictures I use my Nikon D 3300 with a Tamron
70-300mm lens attached. Since I haven’t figured out how to take
a picture of a camera with said camera, the above picture was
taken with my Sony Bloggie camera. The settings were shutter:
1/30 of a second, aperture f/2.8, and ISO 250.

The Nikon is considered an entry level DSLR and the Sony is a
pocket camera. Both work for what I expect and I have been very
happy with both. I prefer manual settings and manual focus as
the settings can make a picture pop and the manual focus gives
you total control on the sharpness.

The picture of the ground hog above was taken on the Nikon
with the lens extended to 300mm the shutter was 1/500th of a
second, aperture f/5.6, and the ISO 400.

I shoot in JPEG and not RAW. I don’t know enough about RAW to
be comfortable but I do know it uses more memory. I don’t have
any photo editing software and use Widows Paint to resize the
pictures or crop. I do have one app that will “automatically”
color the picture. It isn’t used often because it isn’t very
reliable.

And there you have the nickel tour of my picture taking
process. It isn’t pretty, but it is how I do it. Enjoy the
rest of our Thursday, the weekend is just a dream away.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to A clarification

  1. Ron Walker says:

    I like that camera! Mine is a Canon DSLR EOS that is hold as dirt. It has less MP than some cell phones (6mp). It still does a great job, but I seriously need to look at replacing it. I do have a Tamron Lens 100-300. Again thanks for sharing that, the pictures you take with it are just beautiful and I was wondering what you used.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    the Nikon is 24mp and my Sony is 5mp. I looked at reviews before I bought the Tamron and most reviewers didn’t like it. I’m glad I bought it because it works for me. You’re welcome.

  3. Nitrous55 says:

    I have a Nikon Coolpix P900. Looks like a DSLR, but you don’t have to swap lenses. The built in zoom goes beyond 300mm. Works great getting close up shots at the track. My only issue is with the DSLR, I can set the zoom and turn the camera off and wait for my shot. When I want to take it, turn it back on, wait a second, and shoot. You can’t do that with this camera.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Nitrous55,
    nice camera.

