Of great days

Today was another day full of surprises and observations. The
wife and I went over to Dad’s where we talked a little about the
farm and the folks who were neighbors. Then he said to follow
him as he had to show me something. He raised the blinds to a
window and said look at that.

“That” was wheelchair ramp, so I asked if anyone disabled lived
next door. When he said no why? I told him it was a handicapped
ramp. He couldn’t believe people would spend money on something
like that. After a chat the wife and I left to get some bird
seed. I usually go to our farm supply store, she wanted to go
to Wal-Mart, and Wally World it was.

We found the seed and when I put it in the cart said it wasn’t
a 20 pound bag. The wife swore it was and we left it at that.
When we arrived home I hoisted the bag out of the trunk and set
it on the porch only to discover it was a 40 pound bag! It
wasn’t me getting older, it was a heavier bag.

The morning ended with us having sandwiches at a local place
that advertises breakfast all day. The service wasn’t the best,
the food wasn’t the greatest, but we walked out smiling anyway.
And when we got home we danced in the car to music on the
radio.

So enjoy our Tuesday, we won’t get another one until next
week. Now I go in search of a pizza that wants to have dinner
with me.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to Of great days

  1. Ron Walker says:

    THAT is a lot of bird seed! I need to get some also. Great picture of the bird, he really looks intent on something, probably lunch.

  2. Mamabear says:

    Sounds like an ok kinda day! Beauty of a cardinal!

  3. Nitrous55 says:

    Had one installed several years ago so my mother could get out of the house. She passed last year. IT’s not too bad to use unless it is icy.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    I usually get 20 pounds and it last about a month. The cardinal was happy because when I filled the feeder I spread some seed on the ground.

    Mamabear,
    it was a great day and I got a lucky shot of the cardinal.

    futuret,
    thanks for the link.

    Nitrous55,
    I built a few when I was contracting and the ADA had more rules about ramps than anything else we dealt with. They specify a non-slip surface but in our climate we never found anything that worked.

