Racists? Really?

The Stand Your Ground bill has passed to the Iowa House and
the anti-gun group is going to need a safe space. During the
public speaking speaking segment in our capitol, activists were
vocal. They claim gun owners will shoot people in the street,
their children will be shot because they’re the black kids who
wear hoodies, and worse.

Some have even gone so far as to call Stand Your Ground a
modern day lynching bill. And they are welcome to their opinion
on the subject. One comment, however, sticks in my craw. No
name was given to the person who made the comment that
offends me but they said the only people who want the Stand
Your Ground are ‘white, redneck, racists.’

Merriam-Webster describes a redneck as: a white member of the
Southern rural laboring class.

I will not apologize for being born white, or the fact that
I am a redneck. I AM offended being called a ‘racist’. I don’t
have a racist bone in my body, I don’t hate anyone, and
I don’t know any racists personally. That would make you the
racist.

About 10% of the population of Iowa are concealed carry permit
holders now. We went through this when Iowa changed from may
issue to shall issue. When that bill was being discussed the
same people protested and stated that we would have blood
running in our streets if it passed.

You brought the whole dog and pony show to the Capital, and
when it passed, nothing happened. If you feel safe without a
firearm, that is your right. You do not have the right to try
and take mine away or tell me how I can use it.

Enjoy the rest of our Wednesday. We won’t have another one
until next week. And now, I hear a herd of tacos calling to
me. I may just have to have a dozen or so.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Racists? Really?

  1. Brittius says:

    Reblogged this on .

  2. Ron Walker says:

    I get tired of that whole issue. I was brought up to be color-blind. I resent the efforts say I am otherwise.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Brittius,
    thanks for the reblog.

    Ron Walker,
    same here. It’s actually funny that when they can’t come up with any facts they start the name calling.

Leave a Reply

