Demon birds

I got busy again and thought, time for a post before I devour
a pizza and get lazy for the day. Besides getting a lot done I
ran across a critter today the likes of which I don’t remember
ever seeing before. This critter had a blue head with a dark
body, purple tinted wings, black legs, and yellow eyes that
seemed to look right through you.

There were a couple of these birds eating off the ground at
the base of our bird feeder pole today which caused all the
other birds to keep away. Since I knew the types of other
birds that frequented our birdy diner, and didn’t know what
type of bird had invaded, I took action.

I ran over stomping my feet and yelling while said evil birds
flew away. Of course with all the noise so did all the other
birds. A little later I heard a commotion, went out, and saw
the same birds back again.

I don’t trust colorful creatures with yellow eyes ever since
an encounter with ancient tattooed sailor who would drink your
after-shave if you left your locker open while taking a
shower. He would also drink torpedo juice in a pinch and was
crazier than out house rat.

The birds may be a run of the mill variety, but until I get
used to them and their eyes I’m not turning my back on them.
I may not ever trust them as they remind of the grizzled old
sailor mentioned above. Time will tell.

Enjoy the rest of our Thursday as the weekend is almost here.
Now I’m off to incinerate a frozen pizza and drown it with
coffee.
Comments are always welcome.

6 Responses to Demon birds

  1. ronscountry says:

    Sounds like my kind of meal! Those are some strange looking eyes though.

  2. Mamabear says:

    Your bird is a Brewer’s Blackbird~for the scoop check it out here: https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Brewers_Blackbird/id

  3. cruisin2 says:

    ronscountry,
    it was good. The eyes were different alright.

    Mamabear,
    I forgot to mention how big these birds were. Our daughter in law says they are common grackles, which are listed in your link under similar species. Thanks for the link.

  4. QC Ghost says:

    Here’s an idea for a movie: “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner”

  5. Mamabear says:

    The one thing in the article that really caught me was that evil yellow eye. You’re welcome for the link on your Brewer’s Blackbird. I’ve seen a lot of grackles and they’re annoying birds too.

  6. cruisin2 says:

    Ghost,
    works for me.

    Mamabear,
    at first I thought it was light reflecting off them until I realized they were in the shade.

Leave a Reply

