We live in interesting times

fam

An old saying goes “Politicians and diapers must be changed
often, and for the same reason.” Some say Mark Twain coined
the phrase, others insist it was Jose Maria De Eca De Queiroz.
Regardless of who came up with it, we agree.

We didn’t watch President Trumps speech but couldn’t avoid
the fallout from the major news fabricating companies who lean
to the left. For instance, the wife likes to watch the Today
Show and I usually tune it out as I consider it more of a talk
show than a news program.

The day after the speech I did pay attention when Matt Lauer
stated that “Mister” Trump gave a speech last night. I don’t
remember Obama ever being called “Mister” on that program when
he was in office. But I digress.

During the speech some of the Democrats in attendance wore
white in protest of the right to life movement that our new
president seems to endorse. That’s their right. Some didn’t
stand and applaud during the standing ovation for fallen
Navy Seal Ryan Owens and his widow Carryn. That is also their
right.

Yet I find it ironic that Owens died protecting their right
to do so and they didn’t have the common decency, or class,
to at least stand. We wouldn’t include Pelosi or Franken in
this bunch as Franken did stand during the second ovation and
Pelosi probably didn’t even know where she was.

Instead of wearing matching outfits like a pre-school class
on graduation day, or sitting in protest, why not try doing
your jobs and at least try to find some common ground. Pouting
doesn’t look professional.

Then here in Iowa we have a bill moving through the
statehouse awaiting passage so the governor can sign it. The
bill includes stand your ground, Constitutional carry, and
lowering the age you can teach your children to shoot.
This is a case of be careful what you wish for.

We would welcome the bill, as originally written. However,
the stand your ground portion has been diluted to a point it
is basically worthless. If the bill, as now amended, passes
a gun owner could be charged with a crime and open to a
lawsuit from the criminals estate.

When confronted about the changes that weaken the bill one
law-maker stated it was a mistake. We cannot allow such
mistakes to happen. The bill should be passed as written.

That’s why I don’t follow politics as closely as I used to.
Now, since it’s a beautiful day outside I’m going to work up
an appetite with of the goal of consuming 2 pizzas today. We
hope you enjoy our first Thursday in March.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to We live in interesting times

  1. Brittius says:

    Reblogged this on Brittius.

  2. thescoundrel says:

    Pizza is always a good choice, especially pizza buffets. I spent lunch at an East Moline Pizza buffet. But 5 slices was my limit – though I did include chicken and potato salad. I don’t think I could have eaten 2 pizzas even in my younger more ravenous days. 🙂

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Brittius,
    thanks for the reblog.

    scoundrel,
    I have a light breakfast and usually skip lunch. I have decided that I will only have 1 pizza tonight though as I had a big roast beef and cheddar sandwich earlier.

  4. nah says:

    There’s video evidence that the Dems in question, did, in fact, stand for the gold star widow. Not that it stops the RIGHT wing media from reporting otherwise. The photos of them sitting were from an entirely different part of the speech. http://www.politifact.com/punditfact/statements/2017/mar/01/blog-posting/reports-falsely-accuse-democrats-refusing-stand-go/

  5. cruisin2 says:

    nah,
    I’ll stand by what is written. During the first standing ovation at the mention of Owens and his sacrifice they some didn’t stand. One does not show respect at their convenience or to cover their backside.

