Had a brain fart

018

I meant to get out a post yesterday but as we know the road
to hell is paved with good intentions. It was an interesting
day though. The birds were abundant and singing, the clouds
had interesting patterns all day, sunset was beautiful, the
Daytona 500 was on Tv, and it was the anniversary of the birth
of both Buffalo Bill Cody and William Frawley.

Well, I did watch the race. The new format had me as confused
as before; wrecks seemed plentiful, and on the final few laps
it looked like only a dozen cars were left to battle it out.
The new rule that had me most confused was the 5 minute limit
on time to repair crash damage in the pits. Not five minutes
each stop but five minutes total.

The breaking up of the race into three segments didn’t make a
whole lot of sense either. If I understand it correctly the
winner in each of the first two parts got points while the
winner of the last segment won the race. I was glad Kurt Busch
won, but come on.

And Buffalo Bill Cody was born not farfrom our little portion
of the east coast of Iowa in a town called LeClaire. A mere 20
minute scenic drive up River Road from our home. Celebrations
are scheduled all week and the Buffalo Bill Museum has some
special events planned also.

We’re not sure if Burlington, Iowa, has any events planned to
celebrate William Frawleys’ birthday or not. Perhaps a Fred
Mertz festival? Believe it or not but as a young lad he sang
at St. Paul’s Catholic Church and even performed at the
Burlington Opera House!

Since I’m getting distracted again it’s time to go. Enjoy our
Monday as it’s the last one we’ll get this month.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to Had a brain fart

  1. Ron Walker says:

    I think we all have those moments. It’s 9am and I just realized it’s “not” Tuesday its Monday. On the bright side I have the garbage can rolled out to the street early.
    The new rules sound crazy, I grew up with the 500 being run all at once not taking a break.

  2. Mamabear says:

    Join the rest of us confused ppl that follow NASCAR~new rules~to many and most of them make no sense to many of us. If it’s not broke why fix it? If they think this is going to draw in new fans I think they need to rethink that aspect. They’re losing us old-timers who feel that they should run what they brung. Personally I just want plain jane racing. Yesterday was a wreckfest and proved nothing to me. I wasn’t happy that last lap b/c my driver was out front and running great till the gas tank went dry 😦 We’ll see what Atlanta brings us next Sunday.

    Happy Birthday to Buffalo Bill and William Frawley.

    Enjoy the last days of February.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Ron Walker,
    early is good. I’m usually last minute. I also believe if it’s a 500 mile
    race they should race for 500 miles. Not two 60 mile races and an
    80 lap race. If anyone can figure out why NASCAR is doing this,
    could you let us in on it?

    Mamabear,
    The fans aren’t happy, the owners can’t be happy with all the crashes, and the drivers aren’t saying much about it. I noticed quite a few ran out of gas in the last 80 mile segment. If Atlanta turns out the same way I won’t be watching anymore. The end of February
    means we’re that much closer to spring.

  4. Nitrous55 says:

    Daytona and Talladega have been a wreckfest since they install restrictor plates. I don’t care for the repair rule and race format.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Nitrous55,
    we don’t like the new rules either. New sponsor, Monster energy and new rules make for a confusing race.

