If it ain’t broke…

strange

I used to be a fan of NASCAR until they started fixing things
that weren’t broke. The old points system was fine with me,
run the season and if you have the most points you win. Not
long ago it was the race for the chase and then the chase to
win.

Now it seems like that wasn’t enough and NASCAR is mixing it
up again. The official take is: The new race format is
designed to emphasize aggressive racing and strategy, with the
goal of delivering more dramatic moments over the course of
the race and season.

I take that as a push to get more fans into the seats at the
races. So the kinder, gentler, more aggressive, excitment
base version is here. We’ll try to explain it as we understand
it.

Each race will now be run in 3 segments separated by 10
minute driver rest stops. The top 10 finishers in each segment
will be given points and the winner of the first two stages
would get one playoff point, and the race winner (3rd segment)
would get 5 extra playoff points. Said points are added to the
total driver’s points through the 26th race.

The playoff points carry through to the end of postseason
with the championship 4 racing straight-up at Homestead-Miami
for the title. The whole thing is too complicated for this
oldfart which is why I think something else will be our TV
this race season.

If you want to see the rules or figure them out for yourself,
go here.

As for me, I got a headache just reading the BS. Enjoy the
rest of our Thursday as it means we can almost smell the
weekend. Now I have to search for sustenance in preparation
for the marathon grocery shopping we will do tomorrow.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to If it ain’t broke…

  1. Mamabear says:

    As a long time fan of NASCAR all I see is less ppl in the stands than have been there in past seasons. The drivers love the new format and I’m not sure why. I’m a dinosaur from the “run what you brung” era and those days are over. I can’t tell a Toyota from a Chevrolet unless I’m told which is which. I’m going to give it 3 or 4 races to see if I like the new format b/c as a long time fan I owe it to my sport IMO. But they did this with the other two series last year and I wasn’t a fan, but maybe the Cup drivers will make it more exciting. Note that we no longer have “The Chase”, but it’s called “Playoff’s” now so ppl can relate it to other sports. Us old-timers are insignificant now, but we’ve always been loyal. If they expect the younger generation to be like us I think they’re dreaming, but we’ll see if they step up and support the Series.

    Have a good weekend.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    I’ve been following it since it started airing, and local racing before that so I’ll probably watch the first race and see what happens. Just
    seems like the new rules came from their PR person. And thanks, we will. You have a great one also.

Leave a Reply

