Break time

ice

It’s now official. Things got chilly last night with wind chills
locally dropping to almost -30 and the white fluffy love from
above blowing around didn’t help. But once the wind chill got
up to a balmy -15 I did venture out to shovel.

Even that took longer than expected with my eyes watering in
the constant 25 mph breeze. It was shovel, wipe my eyes,
shovel, wipe my eyes, and repeat. But the job got done and I’m
no worse for wear.

Things are looking up though. By Wednesday the high is
supposed to be above 30 with a bit calmer breeze. My winter
gear held up and after several cups of coffee I can honestly
say I’m nice and toasty sitting at the kitchen table.

Our anniversaries are coming up and yes I meant the plural.
The wife got married on December 21st all those years ago and
I tied the knot on the 22nd. No problem, we just celebrate
both days. And a few short days after that it’s Christmas.

A great time of the year and it sure looks like it could be
a white Christmas for those of us on the east coast of Iowa.
I spent one Christmas in Hawaii, and while it is a beautiful
place I just couldn’t get in the spirit.

Regardless of where you are, hot or cold, we wish you a Merry
Christmas! In the mean time I have to find a pizza that has my
name on it.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Break time

  1. Mamabear says:

    Well that’s mighty cold in your neck of the woods. My temp dropped, but not nearly as low as your’s did. This weather is not only heart attack weather, but frostbite weather too. It doesn’t take the skin very long to become frost bitten so all exposed skin should be covered~yes I’m a Mom and I worry about not only family, but friends as well!!! It’s best to use tepid water rather than extremely hot water when you come in from that bitter cold. If you’re interested in learning check out your friend Goggle to learn all about frostbite!

    So how many years of wedded bliss will it be on the 21st/22nd?

    Stay warm and indoors and enjoy the heat coming from the furnace.

    Merry Christmas

  2. Wifey says:

    And you got it wrong again. Our anniversary is the 20th. and I have the paper to prove it.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    I have the gear for cold weather and haven’t had frostbite since the
    70s. The wife got cold coming from work the other day that wasn’t
    frostbite either but she had some pain as her fingers warmed up. As
    to how many years we’ve been married, the answer is in today’s post.

    Wifey,
    and I have the car club newsletter to prove you’re wrong.

  4. This is the perfect web site for anybody who wishes to find out about this topic.

    You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject which has been discussed for decades.
    Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

