The roses

Nature never ceases to amaze me. This month we have seen
high temperatures in the 70s and lows in the 20s, yet one rose
bush is still hanging in there.

011

The trees are almost bare of leaves, the low last night was
22 with high winds, and the bloom is still on the rose. When
I first noticed the flowers on the 9th of this month it had
two flowers with a bud on top.

Now the bud has flowered out while the older blooms are
looking a bit ragged, but they’re hanging in there. We’re not
sure how much longer we’ll be blessed with the sight but if
it goes away tomorrow we can still cherish the memory.

Seeing these blooms remind us of Mom as she was the one of the
strongest women I’ve ever met, and like this rose she doubled
down when things got tough. Mom’s been gone for over six years
now yet I still think of her every day.

Perhaps that’s why I enjoy watching the sky. Thinking she may
give us a sign to let us know she’s waiting for us and missing
us too. We are no longer sad, we feel privileged that we knew
her while she was here and that we got call her Mom.

We just figure it doesn’t hurt to look to the Heavens and
tell them you miss them even if the neighbors think you’re
crazy. So enjoy the remaining hours of Sunday and we hope you
have a rosebush of your own.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to The roses

  1. Mamabear says:

    Wow that’s neat that the rose bush is still blooming despite and cold weather. My Grandpa used to grow roses just for me~he would dabble in cross breeding them and he came out with some beautifully colored ones. He’s been gone for over 10 yrs now and there’s not a day that I don’t think of him. I wouldn’t care if the neighbors thought I was a bit off looking toward the heaven and talking to all those special ppl in my life that have gone before me. I believe they hear me. Not everyone believes, but I do that ppl recently departed come back to check on their loved ones in order to comfort them in their grieving. I hope you get a sign from your Mom~you have to watch/listen closely for that sign. Keep on talking to her b/c she’s listening.

    Have a great week, stay warm and I hope you don’t get any snow like I did!

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    when I checked this morning after two nights dropping into the 20s
    the roses don’t look so hot. I’ve seen a lot of cardinals this year and
    wondered if Mom was just checking in or checking up on me. She
    used to know when I was in trouble before I did. We may get some
    snow in the next few days, but nothing like what you got. We’re
    going to have a great week, hope you do also.

