We did it

2

This morning we early voted and I’m not sure what I was
expecting but things went different than I had imagined. I
thought early voting actually involved voting with the
results being compiled daily. Not quite.

After filling out required form we headed to the table to
have volunteers verify we were who we said we were then were
handed two envelopes and a ballot. One volunteer recited
“once you complete the ballot, place it in the secrecy sleeve
and place it in the manila envelope. Then take the glue stick
in the voting booth, seal the envelope, bring it back here
and put it in the slot in that box.”

That was not how I thought things were going to go but we
followed the instructions anyway. It did not feel the same as
loading the ballot into the machine. There were the requisite
“I voted” stickers atop the box but we didn’t take one. We
have enough of those to cover the bumper of a Mack truck if we
owned one.

After completing our civic duty we visited Dad for a while
and when we were leaving he said he might go early vote
tomorrow. We explained to him that he could not go to his
regular polling place to early vote. So I told him where he
could go to early vote and he changed his mind.

At least in our part of Iowa we use paper ballots so we
don’t worry about a machine switching votes. As is my
policy of not putting my business in the street I won’t say
who I voted for, but I hope he wins.

Here on the east coast of Iowa the sun hasn’t come out all
day and the rain is supposed to start tonight. Hope you have
enjoyed your Tuesday. Tomorrow we’re halfway to the weekend.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to We did it

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Reblogged this on .

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    thank you for the reblog.

  3. Nitrous55 says:

    But, how did they know you were you? Bet they didn’t ask for ID. I bet on November 8, you (or anyone else) could walk in First Christian Church, give them my name and address, and vote as me.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Nitrous 55,
    I had my ID ready but they didn’t ask for it. They looked my name up on the computer and asked my birthday, address, and the last 4 numbers of my social security number then handed me a ballot.

