Bump in the night

Imagine if you will, being awakened from a sound sleep by a
strange noise so you jump up without your glasses and
approach a fuzzy door you believe the sound came from. You
turn the knob, put one foot out, and step into the
Twilight Zone.

063

For the past week this has happened to me and I’ve yet to
deduce if it is a recurring dream or something strange is
going on. I’m sound asleep until I hear a noise that
sounds like someone, or something, rattling a hollow core
door in its frame.

Naturally I hop out of bed to investigate but when I open
the door, nothing is there. No burglar, no curious cat who
got caught behind a closed door, no breeze, nothing. So I
shrug it off only to experience the same thing the very
next night.

We have three hollow core doors which could house the
culprit and I have checked all of them. But I can’t find
the cause. I mention the three doors because I can only
hear out of one ear so the origin of the noise can’t be
determined with any real precision.

If mom were still alive she’d say the spirits are trying
to tell me something. The only thing I know about spirits
is what I remember of the old legends she had told me, what
I learned from watching the Rocky & Bullwinkle Show, and
seeing the movie “The Manitou”.

When I figure it out you’ll be the second one to know.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to Bump in the night

  1. Rifleman III says:

    A mystery…

    Sounds like you have a nocturnal critter. A racoon.
    (Could be a squirrel, but they are active during the day, unless playing.)

    Racoon pizza? (Yum)

  2. QC Ghost says:

    It’s Hillary, bro. I keep telling you, but will you listen? No…

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    don’t think so. It just doesn’t sound the same, but I’ll look.

    Ghost,
    OMG you could be right.

  4. Lorra B. says:

    HAHAHAHA! She came for your guns! 😉

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Lorra B.,
    lol, I hope not.

