Johnny poppers

Yesterday we went to Farm Days in the Village and as we
approached the event there was no mistaking the distinctive
sound of a running Johnny Popper. These two-cylinder John
Deere tractors were manufactured from 1924 to 1960 and if
you’ve ever heard one running, you remember.

The reason for this sound is the first cylinder fires at
0 degrees, the second at 180 degrees then the engine coasts
for 540 degrees to complete the 720 four-stroke cycle. And
although they sound like they need a tune-up these engines
produce power smoothly.

Dad used to say that the Johnny Poppers may have been
2-cylinders, but they had the power of a 4-cylinder. The
first time I was ever on one I thought it had more power
than anything I’d ever experienced before.

At the farm show we watched a broom making demonstration
on a machine made in the 1800s, looked at a lot of tractors
and equipment, met some great people, stopped by the petting
zoo, looked at the wares many were selling, and had a great
lunch. We even took a few pictures.

DSC00014
DSC00017

DSC00018

We managed to go up to the upper part of Lindsey Park and
gazed at the Mighty Missiissippi river. It was a great day.

DSC00009

Enjoy your Sunday, tomorrow the bills start coming in the
mail again.
Comments are always welcome.

3 Responses to Johnny poppers

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    I recall an uncle’s M-Series Deere. I like the new enclosed cab tractors.

  2. Mamabear says:

    I remember going to car shows and there were always Johnny Poppers there too~no mistaking the sound. Great pics~the town looks like one from the past too! My Dad would’ve loved all the tractors. He always had Farmall’s and I can remember the day he brought home a BIG GREEN tractor with an enclosed cab and it had all the bells and whistles a farmer only dreamed of yrs before~he was in hog heaven with that Deere. We couldn’t believe he bought a Deere though! That pic of the Mississippi is always how I envisioned it looking~not like what I’ve seen in other cities. Thanks for a trip down memory lane. Enjoy your Sunday!

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    thanks for the reblog. I’ve seen some of the newer enclosed cabs and things have changed since we last had one.

    Mamabear,
    this was in the Village of East Davenport, which is a historical district. My folks had a bar there until the 1970s, my oldest is general manager of the place now, and it’s a nice place to go and relax. We’re glad you liked the post.

