Law of averages

Yesterday I mowed the lawn, trimmed some bushes,
bundled brush, chopped some wood, and took a few
pictures. I saw the blue jay in the picture below
and I chuckled as I wondered if he knew about the
Angry Birds game.

a 023

When I returned to the air-conditioned comfort of our
humble abode my back decided to go out. It wasn’t bad
enough I needed the wife’s help getting my jeans on or
off, but it was a doozy.

Today is a better a day and except for a few spasms I
think I’m good to go. As long as I don’t have to bend
down, reach up, or lift anything. A small price to pay
for over doing it.

Because of said back problems I didn’t go upstairs and
wake the wife up for work. When she got downstairs she
about chewed me a new one. She stated when I don’t get
her up she envisions me collapsed on the floor unable to
move, even though that has never happened.

She knows my thoughts on the subject. A visit to the
doctor is a last resort. And where does the law of
averages fit into the picture you ask? Well, it has been
a while since this has happened and even though I can’t
finish the yard work it is raining as I write this.

I’ll take that trade off anytime and will have a plan B
for when the rain stops. While we’re waiting the wife and
I can stay inside comfy as two doves on a roof.

a 006

So it all works out in the end if you have the patience
to see it through. Whatever you do, do not say “it can’t
get any worse”. Even though God has a sense of humor he
does like a challenge.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to Law of averages

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Yeah, my whole life proves, God, certainly does, have a sense of humor. Twisted.
    Hope you feel better. Do some homeopathic stuff, like have a couple hotdogs, or go bold and sprinkle crushed red pepper on your pizza.
    Maybe a hot water bottle.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    thanks for the ideas. A double helping of tacos didn’t help.

  3. Grumpa Joe says:

    Old guys and old backs don’t match the vision old guys have in their mind of the days when they were invincible. Learn to wear a back brace and use Salonpas on painful areas.

  4. Grumpa Joe says:

    I forgot, vodka martinis work too.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    thanks for the tips. I don’t drink anymore but I’ll get some Salonpas and give it a try.

