Not an outlaw

1 002

It has been raining here most of the day and just hard
enough to ensure the weeds pop up faster and in larger
quantities. But it has also been another great day here
on the east coast of Iowa.

After having a large piece of the remaining birthday
cake I did some post birthday reminiscing. There have
been an abundance of ups and downs in my life, as there
would be with many my age.

I remembered younger days when I thought I’d be an
outlaw all my life, not a criminal necessarily, but
someone who does things different than most and not
always by the book. Yet I realized that being an
outlaw has changed since my departure.

Outlaws used to have an unbreakable code, or at least
we did. One of the biggest rules was that you didn’t
hurt anyone who wasn’t trying to hurt you. A few of
the others were that you owned up to your mistakes,
and you didn’t change beliefs because yours wasn’t
popular.

Today all bets are off and those who think they are
outlaws don’t appear to have a code or a conscience.
It has evolved into something it was never meant to
be.

But now I have been cleverly disguised as a responsible
adult and married longer than I was an outlaw. That by
no means makes me perfect yet I believe God must have a
plan for me or I wouldn’t be here. Some day I’ll know
why.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Not an outlaw

  1. Definitely! We all came with a plan…not a random event that we are here on the planet in this lifetime. 😉

  2. cruisin2 says:

    passionfortruths,
    so true. I guess I haven’t got with the plan yet.

    The Little Mermaid,
    thank you. Glad you liked it.

  3. QC Ghost says:

    You are living God’s plan. If we had all the answers, there’d be no need for the word ‘faith.’ We won’t know until we’re ‘home.’ The most admirable quality throughout my years has been ‘loyalty.’

