Surprising day

Today we have seen clouds, wind, rain, snow, and on a
few occasions the sun. I had a feeling today was going
to be different and it was. With my 65th birthday coming
tomorrow my gut told me the wife was going to do
something.

I told her earlier in the week of this feeling and she
assured me nothing was up, so I took a stand and told
her that the nothing she had planned had better not
involve singing clowns with balloons or singing
waitresses and that I didn’t want any gifts.

This afternoon I knew I was right when she offered to
take me to a “birthday” dinner and she drove! When I
saw where she was taking me I knew I was right. You
don’t rent a hall to have a birthday dinner for two.

fam

Friends and family showed up and I hope everyone had a
good time. Dad and myself got to have a bison/bacon
meatloaf sandwich and it was big. For what it’s worth
Todd, I thought the sandwich was great. Ronnie created a
car shaped cake that was as good and rich as any I’ve
ever had.

cake

Thanks to Ron for the gift and for stopping by I’m just
sorry you couldn’t hang around, so get better soon and
we’ll have coffee. Thanks to everyone who showed up, and
everyone who worked to make the party perfect. And
thanks to the wife for pulling it off.

All is well at God’s little acre here on the east coast
of Iowa. Have a great weekend.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to Surprising day

  1. Mamabear says:

    Happy Happy Birthday! It’s officially your birthday here in PA as it’s after Midnight.

    I hoped you wouldn’t have guessed what your wife had planned for you and up till the last moment you didn’t! When she told me about that special sandwich I was licking my chops. Ronnie sure is talented at making yummy desserts isn’t she? Glad you got to celebrate a milestone birthday with family and friends. Many more happy years are yet ahead so enjoy them!

  2. Happy Birthday! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    thank you. I knew she was up to something but didn’t expect this.

    Vikas Acharya,
    Thank you.

  4. Rifleman III says:

    Happy Birthday, kid!

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    Thanks.

