Sidelined dream

I was all set to tell you about the dream I had last
where I pitched TV shows to networks. I thought the
winner was “Free range racing monkeys raising chickens”
and even told the wife about it. Then I heard Merle
Haggard died today on his 79th birthday.

More times than I care to remember friends would get
together at a local bar to listen Country Crossroads
and after services ended it was usually Merle Haggard
who got the most play on the jukebox. I’ve haven’t had
a drink since 1987, but I still like to listen to Merle.

We considered him the singing saint of sinners and the
originator of outlaw country. Many thought he was a poet
for the working man and when those words were put to
music we felt he was singing for us and not just to us.

He will be missed. While I was saddened by the passing
of Merle Haggard I did have something to smile about.
When remembering my latest dream, I realized that this
time it was my circus, was my monkeys!
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to Sidelined dream

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Boats. Chickens. Monkeys… Exactly what, is on that pizza?

  2. Grumpa Joe says:

    The Bottle Let Me Down is a favorite of mine, but so many of his songs are just as great.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    meat. Then I add more cheese.

    futuret,
    good link. A lot of us wonder what happened.

    Grumpa Joe,
    mine too. Although “Only Me and Crippled Soldiers Care” is a close second for me.

  4. QC Ghost says:

    Rest in Peace, Mr. Haggard.

