In training

I’ve decided that since the groundhogs aren’t going to
leave we may as well enjoy their antics. The one I have
called Fern seems the boldest of the bunch so I started
with her. And since I believe all animals can be taught
simple tasks I will use photos to document our progress.

We began the training with simple commands like sit,
stay, rollover, and moved on to the harder tricks.
So I had Fern wave to me.

a 001

When Fern had that one down we moved on to a slightly
harder trick. I taught her to pray before meals!

a 002

Now I know what you’re thinking; these pictures were
staged or computer enhanced. That is not the case. These
pictures were taken in real time as the tricks got better,
were not staged, and no groundhogs were harmed during
the training.

I even trained Fern to bow. Since I consider her a female
perhaps a curtsy would have been more appropriate but that
isn’t in my bag of tricks, yet.

a 007

For those who find this tale hard to believe I will
finish with definitive proof that I have trained Fern
to the best of my ability. How many groundhogs have you
seen smile for the camera?

008

We’ll end there as we need to find a pizza willing to
make the sacrifice so that we may eat. Hey! That makes
me wonder if you can teach a groundhog to fetch.

Enjoy the rest of the day and have a great day tomorrow.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to In training

  1. Rifleman III says:

    If all else fails.., Groundhogs are very tasty. 🙂

  2. […] Source: In training […]

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    lol, I thought of that but it’s plan C.

  4. Grumpa Joe says:

    You are a very creative man.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    thank you for the kind words.

