Brook or creek?

We brought a ham dinner over to my mother-in-law’s and
called it “Easter” because we couldn’t make it on the
actual day. A beautiful day with great food and we all
had a good time.

I went outside to have a smoke and saw a creek running
through part of the land and went to investigate. Having
a senior moment I thought; why would a place called
“Brookside” have a creek running through it?

DSC00003

The creek WAS the brook. When I think brook, a
gurgling, slowly meandering peaceful setting comes to
mind. I said this was creek because it looked like it
had to fight its way into the earth and it wasn’t
gurgling.

DSC00006

To me this looked like a creek. But those who own the
property proclaimed it a brook so who am I to argue? No
matter what you call the waterway it makes for a good day
to see one inside the city limits and not completely filled
with trash.

Now that I’m filled with healthy food my pizza will
have to wait until a midnight snack is called for. And
please remember that today is Welcome Home Vietnam
Veterans Day. Welcome Home.
Comments are always welcome

6 Responses to Brook or creek?

  1. Mamabear says:

    Glad you enjoyed your belated Easter dinner~much better than any pizza I bet!

    Creek vs Brook~IMO it looks like a drainage ditch b/c creek/brook both denote a peaceful meandering beautiful body of water large or small not created by man, but by God. I hate to disagree with you however just wanted to give my take on the main subject.

    idk that today was Welcome Home Vietnam Veteran’s Day so thanks for letting us know. We were stationed in Ft Dix when the first soldiers were coming home. I can remember how very proud I was that they were finally coming home and not long afterward I was incredibly sad at hearing how some were treated. Those vet’s hold a special place in my heart b/c they fought for our country just like in every other war even though it never was declared a war. May God Bless all those that came home from an unpopular war and thanks for serving our country.

    Sorry for being so chatty.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    this one is polluted but I believe it’s natural as it has been there a long time. If it is man made it still was fun to photograph. We felt we
    had to mention Welcome Home Vietnam Veterans Day for many of
    the reasons you mentioned and some of our own. And no such thing as chatty here, we welcome comments.

  3. Dale Gilmour says:

    Is it pronounced creek or crick? To me, it’s a creek, but I also pronounce it Duck Crick Park. I’m so confused. Also, you should do a review on pizza. Both frozen, take and bake, carry out, eat in, or other. Inquiring minds want to know. At least my inquiring mind does.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Dale Gilmour,
    I’ll slip up and say crick once in a while and it drives the wife nuts. I
    like the idea about a pizza review, but I am a little prejudice on the
    subject. I think Uncle Bill’s has the best carry out, Antonelli’s the
    best eat in, and Jacks frozen bacon cheeseburger is my go to
    frozen. And sometimes I make my own out of hollowed out french
    bread. I may expand my horizons and try others though.

  5. QC Ghost says:

    I’ve been wondering about Uncle Bills. Seen the ads. Do they have a thin crust? How’s their Italian Sausage? Any info will be appreciated. Tnx.

  6. cruisin2 says:

    Ghost,
    I believe they do have thin crust and everything we’ve had has been great.

