Another first

Friends and family tell me that I get into the
darnedest situations so things happen to me that just
don’t happen to the normal folks out there.

day (4)

After chatting with Dad and running some errands this
morning I decided to go outside and enjoy a rare
spring day. The blue sky was heavy with clouds and the
temperature got up to a balmy 76 degrees.

After clearing some brush I even run into a familiar
face belonging to the feral cat that lives in our
neighborhood. Once again he was calm until I got to
within four feet of him when he scampered off.

day (2)

I ended up outside a good part of the day and even
managed to get a little work done. When I came back
inside I started to empty my pockets of usual things
I carry with me. A multi-tool, pocket knife, lighter,
camera, flashlight, and the like.

And that was when the strange situation happened that
others claim only happen to me. As I reached into my
left front jeans pocket I felt a searing pain in my
palm like I had touched red hot steel. It didn’t take
me long to remove my hand.

Not knowing what happened I slapped my hand against
my leg trying to put the fire out. That didn’t work so
I went over to the sink and ran cold water over my
hand but it was still burning.

I grabbed my flashlight and aimed it on the floor to
see if I could spy what caused such pain. As I moved
the beam under the kitchen table it highlighted the
cause. There looking back at me was a wasp! I still
don’t know how it got in my pocket but I do know it
will no longer be a threat to anyone else.

So I think I’m safe in saying that I’m the first
among friends and family to get a wasp sting from my
jeans pocket. And I hope I’m the last.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to Another first

  1. Grumpa Joe says:

    Never wake up a sleeping wasp.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    thanks for the advice. I’ll try to remember that next time.

