Great day to be alive

flock

Yesterday we had wind gusts to around 65 mph and not
much was happening with wildlife in our area. What a
difference a day makes. Today we have light winds, a
crystal clear sky, and critters of all sorts taking
advantage of day.

Earlier we did our grocery shopping and after stowing
the bags in the truck I happened to look up and saw
a huge flock of birds heading west. Didn’t know where
there were going or why but it put a smile on my face
that’s still there.

Days like today are meant to be enjoyed and as soon
as this is finished I plan to. It may even involve
some work, but it will be outside work in the fresh
air.

And to think, yesterday it looked like this.

DSC00001

The picture is deceiving though as wind gusts were
high when I shot it, but the blue sky was perforated
with fast moving clouds to complete the vista. Things
are looking up here on the east coast of Iowa, spring
is just around the corner, and no rain if the forecast
for the whole week.

That means it won’t be long before people start
complaining it’s too hot. We’ll be outside enjoying it
even if they don’t. So keep the shiny side up, we’ve
got work to do.
Comments are always welcome.

7 Responses to Great day to be alive

  1. Shalini says:

    Beautiful post.. And i believe every day is a day to be alive again 🙂

  2. Mamabear says:

    Beautiful day here in PA too, sunny and 62º and I almost feel like opening the windows a wee bit to bring some fresh air into the place. Looking forward to sprint arriving, but it won’t happen anytime soon b/c we’re to go back down into the 30’s and snow next week~Ma Nature is messing with us still. Enjoy your day, I know I will~any day on the right side of the grass is a great one!

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Shalini,
    thank you. Another day sure beats the alternative.

    Mamabear,
    Not 62 here, but mid 50s is good. The temps here will drop back into 30s next week too, but we’re too close to spring to care. Any
    day I don’t see my obituary in the paper is a great day.

  4. QC Ghost says:

    Third visit is the charm; I just saw the birds.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Ghost,
    did you click on the picture to enlarge it? I had my little pocket Sony
    with me but couldn’t zoom in and get all the birds. It was a sight to see.

  6. QC Ghost says:

    Oh, cool. I didn’t know I could do that. There’s hundreds of them. Great camera.

  7. cruisin2 says:

    Ghost,
    most I’ve ever seen.

