Looking at the moon

DSC00007

I was all set to do this earlier, but when I went
outside the moon and stars caught my eye. Good thing
I came to before I froze.

A friend stopped by so the topic turned to cars. He
thinks he may have his BMW sold which means he is in
the market for something else. The problem is he
doesn’t know what he wants. Been there, done that.

On Valentine’s Day I sent the wife a poem that she
thought I’d made up on my own. She didn’t believe me
when told it actually came from a collection of
English nursery rhymes penned in 1784. It goes like
this:

The rose is red, the violet’s blue,
The honey’s sweet, and so are you.
Thou art my love and I am thine;
I drew thee to my Valentine:
The lot was cast and then I drew,
And Fortune said it shou’d be you.

Yes, it came from “Fammer Gurton’s Garland” or the
Nursery Pamassus: A Choice Collection of Pretty Songs
and Verses by Joseph Ritson.

She liked it so we shared it here since I don’t know
if many are followers of early off-beat writers. As
early as 1796 he adopted “reformed spelling” then in
1803 went insane and was taken to Hoxton, where he
died. An interesting man who wrote interesting prose.

Oh yeah, back to the moon. Although it was only a
half moon it was bright I wanted to get a picture but
by the time it took to run in and grab the camera it
had disappeared behind the clouds. Here’s an older
picture of the same moon.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to Looking at the moon

  1. Mamabear says:

    Very nice poem and glad the wife liked it.

    There’ll be a full moon on 2/22 so have your camera at the ready for a spectacular pic to share with us.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    I’m going to try and set up my tri-pod that night, unless it’s a cloudy night.

  3. QC Ghost says:

    Wow, with all those pixels, you can almost see Neil Armstrong’s foot print.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Ghost,
    Lol, I forgot to edit this one.

