It started out good

what

After receiving official mail from the Social
Security Administration, and being assured applying
online was an easy-breezy way to go, I went to the
website. Finding the page to apply was straightfoward
and in no time I was on my way.

Partially through the application I realized that I
did not know my bank account number nor my routing
number. I do now, but left it blank, saved the form,
and got my re-entry number. Things were looking great.

Then I got a cue to sign up for an account so that I
could access saved form. That was when the demons
from hell flew out of their pit and bit me on the butt.
Let me explain.

The form was partially filled in with information I
had filled out in the previous form so I filled in the
remaining blanks and hit “next”. Well imagine my
surprise when that page started with “Our records
indicate you applied for a mortage in 2010, which
financial institution did you use?”, followed by a
multiple choice answer.

I had not applied for a mortage and clicked “none of
the above”. It did make me wonder why they would
have such information. Number 2 stated “Our records
indicate you applied for a car loan in 2013, which
financial insitution did you use?”, followed by a
multiple choice answer.

Again, I had not applied for a car loan so I clicked
on “none of the above”. Which lead to number 3. “Our
records indicate you applied for a credit card in 2015,
which financial institution did you use?”, followed
by a multiple choice answer. I again hit none of the
above. That lead to a few more questions, which I
answered honestly. I clicked the bottom of the page
that should have set up my account when all hell broke
loose.

The screen lit up like a pin-ball machine and I was
told in big letters that a possible fraud had been
perpetrated against the government, I was not who I
said I was, and I was blocked from the site for 24
hours! Well, kiss my rosey-red patootie.

I explained things to the wife later and she said
she was as much in the dark as I was. We didn’t apply
for any loans and she chalked it up to my tendency to
speed read when I should take it slow. I’ll try again
tomorrow, if the site lets me on and she has agreed to
lend a hand if needed.

I can hardly wait to sign up for Medicare.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to It started out good

  1. Nitrous55 says:

    Wait until you have to do the worksheet to see how much social security you have to pay tax on. That is nuts.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    thanks for the reblog.

    Nitrous55,
    I’ve having a tough enough time waiting 5 working days to see if they approve me.

  3. Grumpa Joe says:

    Make an appointment and go into the SSA office to sign up. Don’t you remember all the online problems with the unAffordable Care Act?

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    I did manage to file a social security application online but once I get confirmation it was approved, I think I will make an appointment to file for Medicare.

