That feeling

The one you get when the errands are all ran and you
get back home only to discover you lost your house
keys.

100_1980

A friend stopped over last night for a visit so I
thought it strange that he would call today. When
I picked up the phone he explained that when he got
back home his keys were missing and he wondered if
I had found them. I had not.

He knows I have only lost my keys once and thought
it was because I put mine on a carabiner and hang
them on a belt loop just like I did when the Navy
was my employer. He was of the belief that I began
putting my keys on my belt loop after I lost them.

So I explained that I had been using a carabiner
for decades and they have never failed me. That
being said, it didn’t fail me the only time I
lost my keys either. My belt loop did.

Of course it had to happen when we were working
out of town on a demolition job which made the
retrieval of said keys more interesting. But get
them back I did and I haven’t lost them since.

He still hasn’t found his keys and I’ve done
what I can from this end. The kitchen has been
checked and my new tactical flashlight worked
great while hunting outside. They aren’t here.

But as someone who has lost keys before I know
what it feels like and hope he finds them at
his place.
Comments are always welcome.

5 Responses to That feeling

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Link attached. Using this one over a year, no issues. Holds key rings and caribiners. On my GI belt 1.5 inches, the actual loop is 2.5 inches, and I attached a stationary caribiner with gate and screw lock, onto that it holds a marlinspike knife (Here on Long Island, I am aways working some sort of line on boats).

    http://www.amazon.com/Zak-Tool-Tactical-Ring-Holder/dp/B00CMGK3R0

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    thanks for link. That makes more sense as I’ve never lost my belt.

  3. Grumpa Joe says:

    I lost a set of keys four years ago. It took two years, but they finally showed up. They were in a nice safe place, just where I put them.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    I quit using safe places to put things because I can’t ever remember where it is. At least you found them.

