Working on it

The moon was out tonight and I have a new camera.
seemed like fate. So I grabbed my hat, coat, and
said camera to document the moon. Or not.

Turns out my hands aren’t as steady as they once
were and there was something on the lens. The first
picture looks like this.

1-21 003

Not to be outdone and knowing I could do better,
another shot was taken at the same setting. And that
turned out like this.

1-21 002

So I leaned against the house to steady my hands in
an attempt to get one good shot. And, the moon looked
like a jelly bean.

1-21 001

No problem, my now addled brain decided that if a
55 mm lens wouldn’t hold still a 300 mm lens would.
And it did, but I’m not giving up my day job. The
picture came out looking more like the sun than the
moon.

1-21 005

But that isn’t a problem either. As long as I have
more nights left to play with the camera I’ll get
that one shot.

My hands used to do calligraphy, letter signs, and
do other things that required them to be steady.
That’s alright too because I know God still gives me
a good day once in a while when my hands don’t shake.

And that’s good enough for me. We’ll try not to bore
you with too many pictures that didn’t turn out. If
all else fails the other camera still works and takes
good pictures.

So if you like doing something but haven’t quite got
the hang of it yet just keep trying. The more we do
something the more automatic it becomes, and when we
don’t concentrate of getting it perfect things have
a way of perfecting themselves.

Hoping your day was as fun as ours and tomorrow goes
just as well.
Comments are always welcome.

9 Responses to Working on it

  1. That encourages me! Thank You. Light and Love, PortiaSLB

  2. Ian Hamlin says:

    Someone once gave me some sage advice; use a tri-pod!😊

  3. cruisin2 says:

    scienceofbeingblog,
    thank you for the kind words.

    Ian Hamlin,
    I thought about dragging it out but didn’t want to invest the time. When it warms up, we’ll try one and see how it goes.

  4. 1wanderingtruthseeker says:

    Hell, I look up at the moon and I fall over backwards. Balance isn’t what it used to be.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    1wanderingtruthseeker,
    I have a friend who always falls backwards. I’d find a window and look sitting down.

  6. Grumpa Joe says:

    You did very well considering you were hand holding the camera. Int first I thought the initial photo was a time lapse and you were tracking the moon’s orbit. Then I realized you were holding the camera. The tripod or any other rock solid surface is what you need to get definition. No mater what age you are or how steady your hands a tiny fraction of a degree shows up to be huge when it is projected 240000 miles out, Keep on trying and you will succeed.

  7. Grumpa Joe says:

    Try opening this link to get a moon photo that will make you try harder

  8. QC Ghost says:

    When you said that you had posted a moon on your blog, I was expecting something totally different than that round thing in the sky.

  9. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    never thought of it that way. I didn’t use a tri-pod because the moon was in and out of the clouds. When I first saw it the shot looked perfect, but after I went in to get the camera it was in the clouds. It should get better once I figure out the lens settings too. Thanks for the link and advice. Don’t think I’ll ever get one that good but will settle for one that I can tell it is the moon in the picture.

    Ghost,
    I was afraid if I posed I wouldn’t be able to straighten up again until the wife got home to help. The thought did enter my mind though.

