Well that was different

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After having a chat with Dad I came home to find
something I hadn’t dealt with before. Backing into
the driveway I noticed a black spot in the snow by
the garage. My first impression was somebody came
through the alley and dumped a garbage bag.

As I got closer it was evident a garbage bag would
have been preferred. A feral cat that lives in the
neighborhood had died and was stuck solid in the
snow and ice that had recently fallen from the sky.

If it was a family cat, and everything wasn’t
frozen solid, it would have received a decent
burial. Instead I got a shovel, 2 large garbage
bags and and old bath towel. Even though the
dead cat went in the garbage can, he had a soft
towel to lie on and I did say a few words to
see the cat over the rainbow bridge.

We don’t know if animals have a heaven but with
the rough life this cat lived he deserved to be
there if there is. We’ll miss seeing him strut
down the alley like he owned it.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to Well that was different

  1. Mamabear says:

    Poor kitty, although he was feral he was a living, breathing cat and you did the best thing possible for him in giving him a soft towel to lie on as he crossed The Rainbow Bridge and said a few words. God Bless you for your compassion and perhaps you’ll meet him when it’s your time~one doesn’t know what awaits us, but I believe that I’ll be reunited with my former companion’s when it’s my time to cross over.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    thank you.

