Starting the new year

looking

We waited until the count down and wished each other
a Happy New Year. The wife hugged me like I was falling
apart, kissed me like she meant it, and we danced to
music we only we could hear. A magical moment.

I say moment because one of her cats took that exact
time to jump up on the table and join the hug. Monkey
is such a ham we both started laughing and the spell
was broken.

The wife then asked me how many times we had done
something like that since we been married. Before I
could break out in a nervous sweat and ruin it I
replied that we never had.

Wrong answer! Turns out 26 years ago after the birth
of our youngest and while she was still on maternity
leave, we did. Telling her that was my second guess
didn’t fly, but we talked of why the number wasn’t
higher.

She has always worked 3rd shift and I worked the
1st. Many people have asked how we stayed together
all these years if we didn’t see other. I’m not
sure we know how it works, only that it has.

The wife remembered the times I took the shotgun
outside and started the new year with a bang, and
I remembered the nights she was at work. We both
recounted the times she was home and I was on the
road repairing storm damage in places too far away
to come home for one day.

If the new year is half as good as our early
morning dance and chat session it should be great.
After all, today is first day of the rest of our lives.
We hope you have a great 2016 also.
Comments are always welcome.

3 Responses to Starting the new year

  1. Mamabear says:

    Lovely moment spoiled by that Monkey~but a good memory to carry throughout the rest of the year.

    May 2016 be the best ever for everyone including this country!

  2. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    it was a good time. We wish you the same for 2016.

    Grumpa Joe,
    thanks. One of those moments that don’t happen enough as we get older..

