The lone tree

We pulled into a rest area in central Nebraska and as I gazed out at what was behind the building I snapped this picture.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I wasn’t happy with how it turned out on my camera so when the wife joined me I asked her to get a picture with her camera.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I did this because the lone tree in the center of the picture is how I’ve felt at times. I don’t do fads, don’t follow the recent movies or watch the hottest TV shows, and I’m certainly not a fashion plate. So when I get invited to a gathering I feel like a fish out of water. It never fails.

Recently at one such gathering I was asked what I thought of the new Star Wars movie. I got some funny looks when I replied I hadn’t seen it and even more funny looks when I explained the last movie I paid to see was Love Story. It went downhill from there as someone asked my opinion of some talent show that they seemed to like. Laughter ensued again when I replied the last talent show I watched on TV was Ed Sullivan.

I glanced around the gathering and noticed men in dress slacks and shirts and women dolled up, and there I was wearing jeans and an ugly Christmas sweater. I held back a giggle thinking how silly they must feel. I don’t look at the food spread out on tables because I learned a while back that people who dress like that just don’t understand that you don’t know what you’re looking at.

I could go on but you get the point. That is why I had to get picture of the lone tree in a forest of other trees huddled together and looking identical. That lone tree stood alone and stood out yet signified to me that it is alright to different while still standing proud and strong. If we
ever pass that way again I will make a point to stop and see how the tree is doing.
Comments are always welcome.

6 Responses to The lone tree

  1. ekurie says:

    Lots of us are that tree, or another lone tree. The true individual ones can own up to it.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    ekurie,
    well said.

  3. Mamabear says:

    I think you have me beat with Love Story~the last movie I paid to see was “Platoon”.

    There’s nothing wrong to standing alone and being your own person, you’re a unique person!

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    Love Story did come out a long time ago. Thanks, I guess I am unique.

  5. Mamabear says:

    Platoon had to come out in the mid 80’s and that’s a long time too. YW and no guessing about it you ARE unique and that’s a good quality IMO.

  6. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    thank you. I just think if we all thought alike it would be a very boring life.

