It’s time

DSC00014

All good things must come to an end and so we say goodbye to family here in Idaho and start the cruise back to Iowa. A gut feeling and the National Weather service tell myself and the lady who follows me around to head east.

We believe we control our lives while in fact we are at the mercy of many factors. Weather being the big one in this case. A section of the route through the mountains known as the canyon has been closed for days and was just reopened today.

Since we don’t own a flying car a clear passage through said mountains is vital to our return to our home on the east coast of Iowa. This looks like the best time for the 1,600+ mile cruise back home. By this time tomorrow we should be Wyoming.

We enjoyed our visits with family, made some new friends, had fantastic meals, and marveled at the majestic mountains that surround us. Gifts have been given, talk was enlightening, and many coffee beans were sacrificed for our benefit. We even saw the inside of a laundromat for the first time in decades!

Being a realist, I also realize the wife is planning our next vacation. And after a mere 14 years of discussion we will load up whatever we have and head out again. I had a feeling after our first vacation 14 years ago that she’d make a habit of it. Love will make you do crazy things.

But you can’t ship bull to an old bull shipper, I am a homeboy and home is Iowa. When I see the beauty of the mountains I also see a cornfield, when I see the Snake river I see the mighty
Mississippi, and as much as I treasure our time with family here I miss talking to Dad.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to It’s time

  1. ekurie says:

    Safe travels. Thanks for bringing us along and please tell your Dad “Merry Christmas” for me.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    ekurie,
    thank you. We enjoyed taking pictures and eating the great food so we could share it, and I’ll let Dad know.

  3. Mamabear says:

    Have a good snow free trip back home. Maybe you can get some more pic’s as you head eastward from a different perspective 🙂 Merry Christmas to all and to all a good day.

  4. Quality articles is the main to invite the visitors to go to see the web
    page, that’s what this web page is providing.

