Thought filled Tuesday

We waked into a scene right out of a Christmas card after being assured by the local weather man that it would be mild with rain. I get why locals call him “Lying Larry”.

DSC00006

DSC00002

Since I get up earlier than the wife I took the first shower this morning. After turning the water on and stepping in I noticed that someone had set the water temperature at par boil. I’m more of a gentle summer rain temperature guy.

The wife was going to get a pictureof me dancing in my skivvies and thought it would be funny until I reminded her that she hadn’t taken her shower yet and my Sony has a zoom lens.

I like being a grandpa but don’t like being called grandpa. So instead of whining about it, I decided to come up with a new moniker. I like senior citizen a with descendant who has a dependent.

Being from Iowa we noticed a practice here in Idaho that drives the wife crazy but almost makes sense to me. While in a shopping emporium lately we noticed a man shopping with a dog on a leash inside the store. Later, we stopped at an eatery and noticed one family had the family dog sitting in the booth with them.

When we asked our son about it he said they allow dogs everywhere here. I loved my dogs when I had them, but even if Iowa allowed dogs in restaurants I would never take mine along to watch me devour a cheeseburger.

It seems strange that back on the east coast of Iowa it is supposed to get
up to 46 degrees today with rain. Not looking good for a white Christmas
back home. Here it is in the lower 30s with 51 mph gusts and avalanche warnings for the mountains. Wherever you are we hope you have an enjoyable day.
Comments are always welcome.

7 Responses to Thought filled Tuesday

  1. ekurie says:

    If you use the acronym for your new moniker you will be scwad-whad

  2. Rifleman III says:

    Merry Christmas.., Pappy.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    ekurie,
    I like it.

    Rifleman III,
    thank you, and Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  4. Mamabear says:

    When Anna starts talking she may not even call you Grandpa, but a variation of it, so you have awhile before she decides what she’ll call you. A first time Grandpa is known to his granddaughter as “Grumpa”, would you prefer that?

    So are you to get a lot more snow that what is pictured? I’m jealous that you’re going to have a white Christmas while back here in PA they’re talking mid 60’s or higher for Christmas Day. Ma Nature is not being kind to us that love to have snow on Christmas Day. After that I’m perfectly fine with no snow kwim?

    I’d venture to say that most places used to allow dogs in their establishments, but then some lawmaker decided it would be best not to allow dogs other than service dogs in stores, restaurants and the like. idk exactly how I feel about dogs being allowed in a restaurant. Wonder if they doggy dinners. Doesn’t seem real nice to have your dog watching as you eat unless you’re going to share with them, but then sharing isn’t allowed in some restaurants LOL

    Hope you have a great day.

  5. cruisin2 says:

    Mamabear,
    Anna can call me whatever she wants, it’s the lady who follows me around and other adults suddenly calling me grandpa that bugs me.
    As for the snow, I think we’re supposed to get some everyday through Christmas with temps low enough for snow to hang around.

    The dogs have free reign out here, right or not. One lady even had 2 dogs on leashes in one store we were at. I don’t know if they have a menu for the dogs or not, but I’d guess the owners would give them a little of what they’re eating. I think it has been worth it to see Anna and the kids with a white Christmas.

  6. Bet the dogs appreciate waiting for scraps and not being left alone… 🙂

  7. cruisin2 says:

    swtspontaneous,
    if the dogs weren’t happy they were well behaved.

