Our visitor

what

As we were leaving for our weekly jaunt to the
grocery store the first thing we saw as we stepped
off the porch was a cardinal. Some say it is an
omen that someone we loved and had died is looking
over us. I usually don’t put much stock in such
things, but I have been thinking of Mom lately.

Be it true or not, I’d like to think she’s looking
down on us and not judging us too harshly. We’re
told Native Americans believe that if a cardinal gets
your attention or crosses your path you may have
some romance in your future. If you are single you
find a relationship, and if married a renewed
romance with your spouse.

The brighter the color on a male cardinal means he
will be the one to prolong his lineage and will
aggressively defend his territory. He can also
carry a tune.

It could be all of these things, or none of these
things, but I just know he sat there and preened
until we turned away, and it seemed to put us in
better mood. That makes it special to us.

Sometimes it’s the simple things that can make a
day better.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to Our visitor

  1. ekurie says:

    I do not know about the Native American lore, hasn’t worked that way for me, but I do believe the one of those we loved and have gone on.

  2. cruisin2 says:

    ekurie,
    I prefer to think it’s a loved one who passed away. After 28 years of marriage, romance would probably kill me.

