A loss to the car culture

We had something else in mind for this post until
we received word that George Barris died. To those
outside the car hobby his name probably isn’t that
familiar, but his creations would be.

1gb

Barris was 89 when he died last night. George Barris
created some of the most iconic and popular cars to ever
grace the blacktop. Barris built the Hirohata Merc,
the Ala Kart, the Munster Coach, Drag-U-La, the
Batmobile, the Wagon Queen Family Truckster, the
Monkee Mobile, KITT, the General Lee, and the Back
to the Future DeLorean to name a few.

He was an integral part of Kustom Kulture and
introduced the average American to the custom car
culture. His cars were featured in TV shows like
The Munsters, Batman, Mannix, The Banana Splits
Adventure Hour, the Beverly Hillbillies, The
Bugaloos, Bearcats!, Banacek, Starsky and Hutch,
the Dukes of Hazzard, Knight Rider, and more.

Our condolences to the family. He will be missed.
Comments are always welcome.

4 Responses to A loss to the car culture

  1. Rifleman III says:

    I wonder how this happened: I gave a “Like” from my email and it brought me to the article where I see my Brittius Gravatar, and I am locked out of my Brittius dashboard by WordPress. I gave a “Like” from the new blog so that I may visit other blogs.

    On Topic: Barris, and a few “Lead Sled” builders were geniuses. In the late 1960s, I do not remember the year, I went to the Car Show in NYC at Columbus Circle. Paid the admission, and with a friend or two, had a real good time, and returned acouple moree times. I was helping out a local racing team with wrenching, and wore a team jacket, that was a simple navy blue work jacket with patches. I said hello to a few people whose cars I admired. Sat in a right-hand drive Opal GT with a manual transmission, the walking, I wave by the Batmobile. The guys asked me to watch things and make sure that nobody touched the Batmobile. It was great. Then I watched, by request, Tommy Ivo’s rail, and Sox & Martin’s funny car that made my eyeballs nearly pop. Great times to be a kid. George Barris, thanks for making stuff that dreams are made of.

  2. Fordolet says:

    Can not believe we lost another Kustom legend. His work is loved by all whether they realize it or not. He will be missed greatly.

    R. I. P. George Barris

  3. Nitrous55 says:

    Love Dragula. Too bad they don’t show more of the regular Kustoms that he and Sam built.

  4. cruisin2 says:

    Rifleman III,
    Wordpress has been acting up for us also. Sounds like you met some icons at that show and the memories last forever.

    Fordolet,
    Well said.

    Nitrous 55,
    here is a page from his site.
    http://barris.com/carsgallery/tvmovie/cars-tvmovie.php

