It’s confusing

look

In April I’ll turn 65 and that seems to make me
very popular lately. I get junk mail and phone
calls daily from companies that want to help me
sort through the chaos of filing for Medicare.

The junk mail goes in the recycle bin and phone
calls get hung up on, if answered at all. Anybody
who claims the government is there to help the
people should have to sort the mess that they call
“enrollment”.

Talking heads from different insurance companies
claim I can sign up during open enrollment that
runs through the first part of December and
coverage would start in January.

Online, one site says I can sign up for both
social security and medicare 3 months prior to my
65th birthday. October is not 3 months before my
birthday.

Another site says social security may
automatically sign me up and send the information
to me 3 months prior to my birthday. That site
also says medicare enrollment may be automatic and
I’d be notified 3 months before my birthday.

One site claimed that medicare is free to some
and that is automatically decided. Most agree that
one can sign up online, or go directly to the
social security office. Some say they would help
with filing if one enrolls in a medicare advantage
program through their company.

I read into all this that I have to wait until 3
months before my birthday to do much and it will
either be free or taken out of my account each
month if it wasn’t predetermined automatically at
an earlier date.

At any rate, I have some time to figure out the
facts and others are going through the same thing.
On a positive note, I still have my sanity and
don’t have a headache.

As we say in Iowa; if you don’t like the weather
hang around, it’ll change.
Comments are always welcome.

2 Responses to It’s confusing

  1. Been there, done that! I’ve had to remain calm and maintain a sense of humor like You! Congrats! You’ve made it this far. Love and Light, Portia SLB

  2. cruisin2 says:

    scienceofbeingblog,
    we have to laugh about it because getting mad wouldn’t do any good. Thanks for the kind words.

