Planning the last ride

100_1887

Tonight as I went out to start the car for the
wife I noticed the clouds were blocking the moon
from shining through. After she left I grabbed my
cheap camera and made it back out just in time to
witness the moon smiling through the clouds.

And that made me think of things not yet finished.
Tomorrow morning we go to the cemetery to make our
arrangements and get sticker shock. We’re not sick
but figure with all the family and friends we’ve
lost over the years we shouldn’t put it off.

We have pretty much decided on cremation and in my
case it was more a case of saving room. People have
been dying since there have been people and if we
all take a full plot I wonder when we’ll run out of
room for those who will need it in the future.

I would also like to write my own obituary because
almost all of them sound the same. He died at ____,
he was born in ______, he went to school at ______,
he married ______. he worked at _______, he liked
_______, he is survived by _____, he was preceded
in death by ______, and the time and place of the
service.

Mine should start something like “Shortly after he
came into this life the doctor slapped him and he
was mad for years.” I would not include the fact
that I had talked to the mortician about getting
buried naked with my butt sticking out the casket.

I don’t know what got me on this kick because as
mentioned neither of us are sick but I also am not
afraid. After all this I’m hungry so it’s pizza
time. When we figure more out about our last ride
we may do another post on the subject.
Comments are always welcome.

3 Responses to Planning the last ride

  1. Nitrous55 says:

    I’m planning on cremation. My “urn” will be a Moon tank. Figure I could mount it on the hot rod until I need it.

  2. Grumpa Joe says:

    Planning for the “event” at our age is a natural phenomenon. I love discussing the “plan” with the kids, they always freak out.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    Nitrous55,
    I like it. Still trying to make up mind on the cremation though.

    Grumpa Joe,
    I remember feeling invincible when younger but being afraid of
    death, now we know it’s coming so we may as well get ready. And
    freaking out the kids could be bonus too.

