Getting older

IMG

Even though I don’t feel any older the devil has a
way of enticing us to dance. Having led a wilder life
than some friends would ask if I could change
anything would I? No. It all happened for a reason
and there is more to do.

But I have found out something I didn’t know. Next
April I’ll turn 65 and although it’s no big deal
personally it appears I’ve become popular again.

I get more mail than the wife now from people
wanting to test my hearing, fix my eyesight, help me
eliminate the confusion of social security and
Medicare, and get my medicines at a lower cost.

What a great country we live in to have all these
people concerned about those of us who have less
time left than we’ve already spent. So I got out
the picture above, which seems like it was taken
yesterday, to remember.

Mom is gone, Dad is 90, I’m 64, and our son is now
starting a family of his own in another state. If
I manage to eke out another 25 years I’d be 89, yet
remember a time when 40 was ancient.

Where did the time go? When we’re young time
stands still but as we age the clock starts turning
like a fan. Getting older isn’t for sissies, but it
still beats the alternative.
Comments are always welcome.

8 Responses to Getting older

  1. gh0stpupp3t says:

    I’m 41 and I don’t feel old. 🙂

  2. jbsnow says:

    The most we can all hope for is to live a fruitful and productive life! Live every day like there’s no tomorrow. My sister died at age 15, and I am thankful to have learned that lesson young.

  3. cruisin2 says:

    gh0stpupp3t,
    don’t start. It’s a trap.

    jbsnow,
    it is always hard to lose a loved one, especially that young.

  4. I don’t feel old at 53 because I have eternity in front of me. 🙂

  5. ekurie says:

    some of us prefer to see our hard-earned life badges as challenges that served to make us stronger and in some ways, softer. great picture.

  6. cruisin2 says:

    ladydonnalands,
    well said.

    ekurie,
    agreed. I think it almost gave me patience. Thanks, the picture was taken in our dining room.

  7. Grumpa Joe says:

    It isn’t the time running super fast that you must worry about, it is when time begins to slow down that we have entered a another new life period.

  8. cruisin2 says:

    Grumpa Joe,
    thanks for the tip. Time still flies by so I may a while yet.

